Personal index
US trips index
Home page

Last update:
23-Sep-00

1996-2003
Mike Todd

April/May 1999

Englewood - Naples - Deerfield Beach - Orlando
With cousin Ginia

 

  Wed 14 Apr   
Flew Gatwick to Orlando (Virgin)
Overnight at 8100 Casa De Meadows Drive, Engelwood, FL
 
   
Stayed at Ginia's overnight and drove down to Gatwick on Wednesday morning to catch the 12:30 Virgin flight from Gatwick to Orlando. Picked up the rental car from Dollar (green Stratus) at 6:30pm, and drove across to the west coast and down to Englewood. This was a long, 160-mile drive, and we arrived veyr late. We couldn't find the house by the directions we'd been given, but the GPS navigatot took us straight there.
  Thu 15 Apr   
8100 Casa De Meadows (2nd night)
   
  Fri 16 Apr   
8100 Casa De Meadows (3rd night)
   
  Sat 17 Apr   
8100 Casa De Meadows (4th night)
   
  Sun 18 Apr   
8100 Casa De Meadows (5th night)
   
Drove across to Port Charlotte, and spent some time in the shopping centre. Had lunch at Ruby Tuesday's.
  Mon 19 Apr   
8100 Casa De Meadows (6th night)
   
  Tue 20 Apr   
8100 Casa De Meadows (7th night)
   
  Wed 21 Apr   
Drove down to Naples
First night at 820 Belville Blvd, Naples, FL
   
A relatively short drive (about 90 miles). We had a somewhat meandering drive, and stopped off at the Koreshan State Historid Site in Estero, about 20 miles north of Naples. Then drove down to Naples, picked up the keys and went to 820 Belville.
  Thu 22 Apr   
820 Belville (2nd night)
   
Took a drive up to Barnes & Noble - and had lunch at the Olive Garden
  Fri 23 Apr   
820 Belville (3rd night)
   
Went to Office Depot, and other stores
  Sat 24 Apr   
820 Belville (4th night)
   
Drove into north Naples, and went shopping at Bealls and Office Max.
  Sun 25 Apr   
820 Belville (5th night)
   
.
  Mon 26 Apr   
820 Belville (6th night)
   
Spent the morning at the Coastland Mall. Lunch at Ruby Tuesday's, and rest of the day in and by the pool.
  Tue 27 Apr   
820 Belville (7th night)
     
  Wed 28 Apr   
Drove across to Miami, and Deerfield Beach
First night at Ocean Terrace Suites, Deerfield Beach, FL
   
After handing in the keys, drove teh 120 miles across to the east coast, and checked in to the Ocean Terrace Suites. Ginia had stayed here many years ago. It is right on the sea front, and the suite had a bedroom with en suite, plus a fold-down bed in the front living room. Ginia took this room as she enjoyed the view of the sea.
  Thu 29 Apr  
Ocean Terrace Suites (2nd night)
   
Spent day just mooching around. The weather kept changing very quickly, but during a sunny and warm spell we went down to the beach for a swim. We saw what looked like a tornado starting up during one of the storms.
  Fri 30 Apr   
Drove up to Kissimmee
First night at Clarion Suites, Lake Buena Vista, FL
   
Checked out of the Ocean Terrace, and drove the 200 miles up to Orlando. We stayed at the Clarion Suites, near Lake Buena Vista and had our evening meal at a Red Lobster
  Sat 1 May   
Clarion Suites, Lake Buena Vista (2nd night)
   
I left Ginia to her own devices today, and went looking for where Bryan and Mark were playing in their music festival at Valencia College in the north of Orlando. I watched their performance, and then left them. We met up later in the day at Disney MGM Studios and had a fun afternoon. I left them and headed back to Ginia, who had had a lazy day.
  Sun 2 May   
Flew back from Orlando to Gatwick
   
Checked in the luggage at the excellent Virgin check-in in the Disney Marketplace car park, then went off to do some catch-up shopping. We handed the car back at the airport, and caught the flight home at 8:40pm
  Mon 3 May   

Arrived back at Gatwick